Department of Curriculum and Instruction


The United States remains a country of many languages – and many of those are spoken by children in P-12 schools. English as a Second Language/Bilingual teachers are needed to design and implement instruction for diverse learners – and to advocate for their families. Our 33-semester-hour M.S.Ed. in Literacy Education with a specialization in English as a Second Language/Bilingual Education will prepare you to teach those children to learn English as they grow in their knowledge and confidence to thrive in our nation.

Connect with Curriculum and Instruction

Current and prospective students can connect virtually with our advisors and administrative staff this spring. Only virtual appointments are available at this time as our team is working remotely.

Please email our advisors to schedule one of the following appointments.

Name Title Email
Sally Blake Department Chair sblake1@niu.edu
Kathy Dombek 2+2 and Middle Level Advisor kdombek1@niu.edu
Brenda Kehm Office Manager bkehm@niu.edu
Christine Schweitzer Elementary Education Advisor cschweitzer2@niu.edu
Nick Slicer Graduate Advisor nslicer@niu.edu
Virtual office hours will be 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

In the News

Contact Us

Department of Curriculum and Instruction
Gabel Hall 147
815-753-8556
815-753-8563 (fax)
CIDepartment@niu.edu 

Follow Us On


    

Upcoming Events