Department of Curriculum and Instruction


The United States remains a country of many languages – and many of those are spoken by children in P-12 schools. English as a Second Language/Bilingual teachers are needed to design and implement instruction for diverse learners – and to advocate for their families. Our 33-semester-hour M.S.Ed. in Literacy Education with a specialization in English as a Second Language/Bilingual Education will prepare you to teach those children to learn English as they grow in their knowledge and confidence to thrive in our nation.

Connect with Curriculum and Instruction

Current and prospective students can connect virtually or in-person with our advisors and administrative staff this fall. Virtual appointments are preferred but face-to-face meetings are an option as team members will be in the office one day a week per the following schedule. Please use individual emails to request both virtual and face-to-face appointments. Face masks and physical distancing will be required for all face-to-face appointments in support of our Protect the Pack Pledge.

Day Name Title Email
Monday Christine Schweitzer Elementary Education Advisor cschweitzer2@niu.edu
Tuesday Sally Blake Department Chair sblake1@niu.edu
Wednesday Nick Slicer Graduate Advisor nslicer@niu.edu
Thursday Brenda Kehm Office Manager bkehm@niu.edu
Friday Kathy Dombek 2+2 and Middle Level Advisor kdombek1@niu.edu
Office hours will be 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

In the News

Contact Us

Department of Curriculum and Instruction
Gabel Hall 147
815-753-8556
815-753-8563 (fax)
CIDepartment@niu.edu 

Follow Us On


    

Upcoming Events