Faculty and Staff Directory

Administration

Name Title Phone Email Office
Sally Blake Department Chair, Professor 815-753-9032 sblake1@niu.edu GA 147
Laurie Elish-Piper Dean, Presidential Teaching Professor 815-753-9055 laurieep@niu.edu GH 321A
David Paige Director, Jerry Johns Literacy Clinic 815-753-8187 dpaige2@niu.edu WL 2003

Advising

Name Title Phone Email Office
Kimberly Green Elementary Education Advisor 815-753-8357 kgreen@niu.edu GA138C
Chris Lowe Middle Level Teaching and Learning Advisor 815-753-2644 clowe@niu.edu GA 138B
Nick Slicer Graduate Advisor 815-753-7948 nslicer@niu.edu GA 152D

Office Support Staff

Name Title Phone Email Office
Brenda Kehm Office Manager 815-753-1417 bkehm@niu.edu GA 147

Academic Literacy and Learning

Name Title Phone Email Office
Jodi Lampi Associate Professor 815-753-8486 jlampi@niu.edu GH 119H
Rebecca Vaughn Instructor 815-753-9674 rvaughn2@niu.edu GA 103

Bilingual/ESL

Name Title Phone Email Office
James Cohen Assistant Professor 815-753-0897 jcohen2@niu.edu GA 147F
David Nieto Assistant Professor 815-753-2213 dnieto@niu.edu GA 147E
Mariana Ricklefs Assistant Professor 815-753-5741 mricklefs@niu.edu GH 119B
John Evar Strid Associate Professor 815-753-4158 jstrid@niu.edu GA 147D
Dianne Zalesky Instructor 815-753-9674 dzalesky@niu.edu GA 103

Curriculum and Instruction

Name Title Phone Email Office
Joseph Flynn Associate Professor 815-753-4539 jeflynn@niu.edu GH 119M
Elizabeth Wilkins Professor 815-753-9406 ewilkins@niu.edu WI 100

Elementary Education

Name Title Phone Email Office
Megan Gerken Instructor N/A mgerken@niu.edu GA 154A
Trish Hayden Instructor N/A thayden1@niu.edu GA 154A
Tammy Scheibe Instructor 815-753-3172 tscheibe@niu.edu GA 152C

Reading, Literacy and Language Arts

Name Title Phone Email Office
Zoe Cassady Instructor 815-753-9272 zcassady1@niu.edu GH 119C
Mary Costello Instructor 815-753-8465 mcostello@niu.edu GA 130C
Mary Gardner Instructor 815-753-2036 gardner@niu.edu GA 103
Eric Junco Instructor N/A N/A GH 119F
Melanie Koss Professor 815-753-9260 mkoss@niu.edu GA 130B
David Paige Professor 815-753-8458 dpaige2@niu.edu WL 2003
Donna Werderich Professor 815-753-7639 dwerderi@niu.edu GH 119L
Corrine Wickens Professor 815-753-8485 cwickens@niu.edu GH 119J

Science Education

Name Title Phone Email Office
C Sheldon Woods Associate Professor 815-753-8446 cswoods@niu.edu GA 102

Social Studies Education

Name Title Phone Email Office
Jeanine Clark Bremer Instructor 815-753-8556 N/A GA 148
Eui-kyung Shin Professor 815-753-8492 ekshin@niu.edu GA 166E

Emeritus Faculty

Name Email
Mayra Daniel mcdaniel@niu.edu

Contact Us

Department of Curriculum and Instruction
Gabel Hall 147
815-753-8556
815-753-8563 (fax)
CIDepartment@niu.edu 

Follow Us On