Faculty and Staff Directory

Administration and Office Support

Name Title Phone Email Office
Suzanne Degges-White Chair and Professor 815-753-9163 sdeggeswhite@niu.edu Gabel 200E
Jamie Colbert Office Administrator 815-753-0526 jamiecolbert@niu.edu Gabel 200C
Danae Miesbauer Academic Counselor 815-753-1306 dmiesbauer@niu.edu Gabel 201B
Mary Kay Soesbe Office Support Specialist 815-753-1448 msoesbe@niu.edu Gabel 200

Higher Education

Name Title Phone Email Office
Xiaodan Hu Assistant Professor 815-753-6878 xiaodan.hu@niu.edu Gabel 201F
Quortne Hutchings Assistant Professor 815-753-7608 qhutchings@niu.edu Gabel 201E
Katy Jaekel Associate Professor 815-753-0788 kjaekel@niu.edu Gabel 201H
Carrie Kortegast Associate Professor 815-753-9200 ckortegast@niu.edu Gabel 201C
Jacqueline Mac Assistant Professor 815-753-9375 jmac@niu.edu  Gabel 201J
Gudrun Nyunt Assistant Professor 815-753-9373 gnyunt@niu.edu Gabel 201D

Counseling

Name Title Phone Email Office
Vera Chimbanda Instructor 815-753-1448 vchimbanda1@niu.edu Gabel 201A
Melissa Fickling Associate Professor 815-753-9304 mfickling@niu.edu Graham 407
Kimberly A. Hart Clinical Assistant Professor 815-753-9308 khart2@niu.edu Graham 416E
Jehan Hill Assistant Professor 815-753-9861 jhill2@niu.edu Graham 405
Dana Isawi Assistant Professor 815-753-8210 disawi@niu.edu Graham 408
Patrick McMillion Instructor 815-753-1448 pmcmillion1@niu.edu Graham 427
Peitao Zhu Assistant Professor 815-753-9863 pzhu@niu.edu Graham 427C

Emeritus Faculty

Name Email
LaVerne Gyant lgyant@niu.edu

Contact Us

Department of Counseling and Higher Education
Gabel Hall 200
815-753-1448
cahe@niu.edu

Counseling Admissions
Graham Hall 416
815-753-5749
cahc_admissions@niu.edu

Higher Education and Student Affairs Admissions
Gabel Hall 201 B
815-753-1306
dmiesbauer@niu.edu